For a flexible Thunderbolt 4 setup, I’d start with the CalDigit TS4: its 18 ports and 98W charging make it the strongest dock choice for users connecting lots of gear. The Dell Pro SD25TB4 and Satechi Thunderbolt 4 Dock stand out for desk setups that need a dock, while the OWC 240W cable suits buyers who want a short, high-power certified connection. The main tradeoffs are dock size and port mix versus the simplicity of a cable, plus cable length, charging capacity, and device compatibility. A cable alone cannot add ports or drive displays beyond what the host device supports. Read on for the full comparison and a guide to matching each option to your setup.
Get movie nights delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- The CalDigit TS4 leads for port-heavy desks: its 18-port design is the most expansive dock option in this lineup, though it may be more dock than a simple laptop setup needs.
- The dock choice depends on display and device needs: Satechi emphasizes dual 4K/60Hz HDMI displays, while Plugable and Dell offer different docking options for users weighing monitor support, charging, and workstation connections.
- 240W cable claims do not raise every laptop’s charging limit: OWC, Silkland, Plugable, Acer, and Anker offer high-power cable options, but the laptop and power adapter also set the actual charging ceiling.
- Cable length is a practical tradeoff: the 6.6-foot Cable Matters active cable suits a farther-away connection better than short desk cables, while a shorter run can keep a tidy setup simple.
- The Cable Matters 3.3-foot cable appears twice: those entries share the same listed model and length, so the lineup does not represent 13 distinct designs; compare the duplicate listing carefully before treating it as a separate choice.
| Cable Matters Active Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 6.6ft, 40Gbps, 100W Charging, Supports 8K/4K Video | ![]() | Best for Longer Setups | Cable type: Thunderbolt 4 | Length: 6.6 feet | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Dell Pro SD25TB4 Thunderbolt 4 Docking Station | ![]() | Best for Dell Multi-Monitor Workstations | Model: SD25TB4 | Interfaces: Thunderbolt 4, USB-C, HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4, Ethernet | Data speed: 40Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 3.3ft / 1m | ![]() | Best Short-Run Cable | Cable type: Thunderbolt 4 | Length: 3.3 feet / 1 meter | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Satechi Thunderbolt 4 Docking Station – Dual 4K/60Hz HDMI Displays | ![]() | Best for Feature-Rich DisplayLink Setups | Thunderbolt data rate: 40Gbps | Maximum display support: Up to four 4K/60Hz displays | HDMI ports: 2, using DisplayLink | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| OWC Thunderbolt 4 USB-C Cable 40Gb/s 240W 0.7M (28in) | ![]() | Best for High-Power Compact Setups | Cable type: Thunderbolt 4 / USB-C | Length: 0.7 meter / 28 inches | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 3.3ft / 1m | ![]() | Best Straightforward Certified-Speed Pick | Connector type: Thunderbolt 4 | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | Power delivery: Up to 240W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Silkland 40Gbps USB 4 / Thunderbolt 4 Cable (4ft), 240W PD 3.1, 8K/Dual 4K Support | ![]() | Best for Verified Compatibility | Cable type: Thunderbolt 4 / USB4, USB-C male-to-male | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | Power delivery: Up to 240W PD 3.1 (48V/5A) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock for M4/M5 MacBook Air & Pro, 100W Charging | ![]() | Best for Multi-Display Mac Desks | Interface: Thunderbolt 4 | Total ports: 13 | USB ports: 7 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Cable 240W EPR Charging, 1M (3.3ft) | ![]() | Best for Certified 240W Charging | Cable type: Thunderbolt 4 | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | Maximum power: 240W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Acer USB4 Cable 40Gbps, 8K@60Hz Thunderbolt 4/3 Cable (3.3FT, 240W) | ![]() | Best Braided Alternative for 8K@60Hz | Cable type: USB4 Type-C | Compatibility: Thunderbolt 4 and Thunderbolt 3 | Data transfer rate: Up to 40Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CalDigit TS4 18 Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock, 98W Charging, Space Gray | ![]() | Best for Maximum Connectivity | Total ports: 18 | USB ports: 8 | Power delivery: Up to 98W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock with 100W Charging, Dual Monitor | ![]() | Best for Dual 4K Office Setups | Total ports: 13 | HDMI ports: 2 | Transfer speed: Up to 40Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker Prime Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 3.3ft USB-C to USB-C, 240W Charging | ![]() | Best Certified Cable for High-Power Setups | Certification: Thunderbolt 4-certified | Connector type: USB-C to USB-C | Length: 3.3 ft | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| thunderbolt 4 hubs and certified cable | Power delivery | Length | Data transfer rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cable Matters Active Thunderbo | Up to 100W | 6.6 feet | Up to 40Gbps |
| Dell Pro SD25TB4 Thunderbolt 4 | — | — | — |
| Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbo | Description states up to 240W; wattage spec lists 100W | 3.3 feet / 1 meter | Up to 40Gbps |
| Satechi Thunderbolt 4 Docking | 180W | — | — |
| OWC Thunderbolt 4 USB-C Cable | Up to 240W | 0.7 meter / 28 inches | Up to 40Gbps |
| Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbo | Up to 240W | 3.3ft / 1m | Up to 40Gbps |
| Silkland 40Gbps USB 4 / Thunde | Up to 240W PD 3.1 (48V/5A) | 4ft | Up to 40Gbps |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock fo | — | — | — |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Cable 2 | — | 1m / 3.3ft | Up to 40Gbps |
| Acer USB4 Cable 40Gbps | Up to 240W PD 3.1 | 3.3ft | Up to 40Gbps |
| CalDigit TS4 18 Port Thunderbo | Up to 98W | — | — |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock wi | Up to 100W | — | — |
| Anker Prime Thunderbolt 4 Cabl | — | 3.3 ft | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Cable Matters Active Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 6.6ft, 40Gbps, 100W Charging, Supports 8K/4K Video
The 6.6-foot length is the key reason to choose this Cable Matters cable: it gives a desk setup more reach than the 1-meter Cable Matters Thunderbolt 4 Cable or OWC’s 0.7-meter option, while retaining 40Gbps data and support for up to 100W charging. That makes it a practical link between a laptop and a dock or display when those devices cannot sit close together. It also supports dual 4K or single 8K video and works with Thunderbolt 3, USB4, and USB-C devices, so it can stay useful across mixed hardware. The tradeoff is its 100W power ceiling, below the 240W capability listed for the shorter Cable Matters cable. Its plastic exterior and premium positioning also make it less compelling if reach is not needed.
Pros:- 6.6-foot length offers more placement flexibility than the shorter cable options in this roundup.
- Supports 40Gbps data transfer and dual 4K or single 8K video.
- Provides up to 100W charging.
- Compatible with Thunderbolt 3, USB4, and USB-C devices.
Cons:- 100W maximum is lower than the 240W capability listed for some shorter alternatives.
- Plastic outer material may be less durable over time.
- Full bandwidth, charging, and video features depend on compatible connected devices.
Best for: Laptop users who need a certified Thunderbolt 4 connection across a wider desk or between a computer and a nearby dock.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need more than 100W charging or have a compact setup where a shorter, 240W-rated cable is a better fit.
- Cable type:Thunderbolt 4
- Length:6.6 feet
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Power delivery:Up to 100W
- Video support:Dual 4K or single 8K
- Compatibility:Thunderbolt 3, USB4, USB-C
- Maximum current:5A
- Material:Plastic
Our verdict“Choose this cable when extra reach matters more than 240W charging or a compact cable run.”
Dell Pro SD25TB4 Thunderbolt 4 Docking Station
Quad 4K monitor support and up to 180W delivery to Dell laptops make the SD25TB4 the most workstation-focused pick here. Compared with the Satechi Thunderbolt 4 Docking Station, which combines Thunderbolt outputs with DisplayLink-based HDMI, Dell’s stated display support spans HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4, and USB-C, giving buyers several connection types for a multi-screen desk. Its 40Gbps transfer rate and listed Windows, macOS, and Ubuntu compatibility also suit mixed-office environments. The biggest distinction is power: the full 180W figure applies to Dell laptops, while other systems receive up to 130W. Buyers should also confirm how their specific computer handles four displays; the product data does not spell out every host limitation. This is a more specialized dock than either cable in the roundup and brings a larger setup commitment.
Pros:- Supports up to four 4K monitors through HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4, and USB-C.
- Provides up to 180W power delivery for Dell laptops and up to 130W for other systems.
- Offers 40Gbps data transfer.
- Lists compatibility with Windows 10/11, macOS, and Ubuntu.
Cons:- Non-Dell laptops receive up to 130W rather than the stated 180W.
- Four-display support may depend on the host computer and its display capabilities.
- A dock is less suitable than a cable for buyers who only need one direct connection.
Best for: Dell laptop owners building a fixed workstation with several 4K monitors, wired peripherals, and substantial laptop power needs.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a non-Dell laptop who need 180W charging, or anyone seeking a simple portable cable rather than a desk dock.
- Model:SD25TB4
- Interfaces:Thunderbolt 4, USB-C, HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4, Ethernet
- Data speed:40Gbps
- Monitor support:Up to four 4K monitors
- Power output:Up to 180W for Dell laptops; up to 130W for others
- Dimensions:8.07 × 3.54 × 1.2 inches
- Compatible operating systems:Windows 10/11, macOS, Ubuntu
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick the Dell SD25TB4 for a Dell-centered multi-display workstation, not for a minimal or highly portable setup.”
Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 3.3ft / 1m
A 1-meter length makes this Cable Matters cable a cleaner match for a laptop placed directly beside a dock or monitor than the brand’s 6.6-foot model. It keeps the same headline 40Gbps data rate and 8K video support, while the listing describes USB Power Delivery up to 240W. That higher stated power capacity can make it more suitable than the longer Cable Matters cable for newer high-power charging setups, though the spec fields also list 100W wattage, so buyers should verify the supported charging profile for their devices. It is backward compatible with Thunderbolt 3 and fits a tidy desk run, but the short reach is a real constraint: it cannot match the longer cable when equipment is spaced apart. OWC’s 0.7-meter cable is shorter still, with a listed 240W rating and a three-year warranty.
Pros:- Supports up to 40Gbps data transfer and 8K video output.
- Compact 3.3-foot length suits close-connected desk setups.
- Compatible with Thunderbolt 3 and USB4 devices.
- Product description states support for USB Power Delivery up to 240W.
Cons:- The 3.3-foot length may not reach devices placed farther apart.
- Listed wattage is 100W while the description states 240W USB Power Delivery, so the charging specification is unclear.
- Full performance depends on compatible host devices and peripherals.
Best for: Desk users placing a Thunderbolt laptop, dock, and display close together who want a short cable with high-bandwidth and high-power claims.
Not ideal for: People who need a cable to reach across a desk or want unambiguous charging specifications before buying.
- Cable type:Thunderbolt 4
- Length:3.3 feet / 1 meter
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Video support:8K output
- Power delivery:Description states up to 240W; wattage spec lists 100W
- Maximum current:5A
- Maximum voltage:48V DC
- Compatibility:Thunderbolt 3, USB4, and compatible devices
Our verdict“Choose this short cable for a close-set workstation, but confirm its applicable power rating for your charging setup.”
Satechi Thunderbolt 4 Docking Station – Dual 4K/60Hz HDMI Displays
Display flexibility is this Satechi dock’s defining advantage: it lists support for up to four 4K/60Hz displays, using two Thunderbolt 4 connections and two HDMI outputs powered by DisplayLink. That gives it a different role from the Dell Pro SD25TB4, which is the stronger fit for Dell laptop charging and a native multi-connection workstation. Satechi adds 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4, 180W power delivery, Gigabit Ethernet, a UHS-II SD reader, and USB-A ports, so it can replace several adapters on a busy desk. The tradeoff is that the HDMI displays need DisplayLink drivers, and M1/M2 Macs are limited to three displays according to the product details. Buyers who want straightforward native display support or depend on an M1/M2 Mac’s maximum screen count should check compatibility before choosing it.
Pros:- Supports up to four 4K/60Hz displays through Thunderbolt 4 and DisplayLink HDMI.
- Combines 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 with 180W power delivery.
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet and a UHS-II SD card reader.
- Provides 12 total ports, including two HDMI and two USB-A ports.
Cons:- HDMI outputs require DisplayLink drivers.
- M1/M2 Mac models are limited to three displays per the product details.
- Display support depends on the host computer and software configuration.
Best for: Users building a desk around multiple 4K displays who can install DisplayLink drivers and want Ethernet, SD, and USB connections in one dock.
Not ideal for: M1/M2 Mac owners expecting four external displays, or users who want HDMI screens to work without DisplayLink software.
- Thunderbolt data rate:40Gbps
- Maximum display support:Up to four 4K/60Hz displays
- HDMI ports:2, using DisplayLink
- Total ports:12
- USB-A ports:2
- Power delivery:180W
- Dimensions:8.4 × 3.7 × 0.7 inches
- Weight:1.1 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the Satechi dock when DisplayLink-based multi-screen flexibility and a broad port selection matter more than driver-free HDMI.”
OWC Thunderbolt 4 USB-C Cable 40Gb/s 240W 0.7M (28in)
240W power delivery and a three-year warranty give the OWC cable a clear niche among the cable picks: it suits a compact setup where high charging capacity matters more than extra reach. Like the 1-meter Cable Matters Thunderbolt 4 Cable, it lists 40Gbps transfer and 8K video support, but OWC’s cable is shorter at 0.7 meters and states 240W directly in its specs. That makes it a tidy connection for a laptop beside a dock, display, or charging accessory, while broad compatibility covers Thunderbolt 4 and 3, USB4, USB-C, and several device types. The length is its main limitation, especially compared with Cable Matters’ 6.6-foot option. Buyers should also check that their host and charger support the desired power and video modes; the cable alone cannot add those capabilities.
Pros:- Lists up to 240W power delivery.
- Supports 40Gbps data transfer and up to 8K video output.
- Works with Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3, USB4, and USB-C devices.
- Includes a three-year warranty.
Cons:- At 0.7 meters, it offers less reach than both Cable Matters cables in this roundup.
- Full charging and video performance depends on compatible host devices and accessories.
Best for: Owners of high-power USB-C or Thunderbolt devices whose laptop, dock, or charger sits within 28 inches of the connection point.
Not ideal for: Anyone routing a cable across a desk or needing flexible placement away from a dock or display.
- Cable type:Thunderbolt 4 / USB-C
- Length:0.7 meter / 28 inches
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Power delivery:Up to 240W
- Video support:Up to 8K
- Maximum current:12A
- Maximum voltage:20V
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the OWC cable for a close connection that needs 240W capability and a longer warranty, not for reach.”
Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 3.3ft / 1m
This Cable Matters cable is a practical choice when the goal is dependable Thunderbolt 4 bandwidth in a short, simple run. Its 40Gbps data rate, support for 8K video, and up to 240W USB Power Delivery cover fast storage, display, and charging needs with one cable. Compared with the Silkland 4ft cable, it gives up a little reach and the listed USB-IF certification detail, but its familiar 1-meter format suits close desk connections between a laptop, dock, or monitor. The tradeoff is flexibility: a short lead can make dock placement awkward, and full performance depends on the connected devices supporting the relevant standards. I’d choose it for a compact setup, not a roomier workstation layout.
Pros:- Supports data transfer up to 40Gbps
- Supports USB Power Delivery up to 240W
- Supports 8K video output
- Backward compatible with Thunderbolt 3
Cons:- The 1-meter length may restrict dock or monitor placement
- Full capabilities require compatible Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 devices
Best for: Laptop owners connecting a nearby Thunderbolt 4 dock, monitor, or external drive who want high bandwidth and high-wattage charging in a short cable.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need extra reach between a laptop and a dock, or whose devices lack Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 support.
- Connector type:Thunderbolt 4
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Power delivery:Up to 240W
- Video support:Up to 8K output
- Length:3.3ft / 1m
- Compatibility:Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3, and USB4 devices
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Choose this Cable Matters cable for a short, high-bandwidth connection where 40Gbps performance and up to 240W charging matter more than extra reach.”
Silkland 40Gbps USB 4 / Thunderbolt 4 Cable (4ft), 240W PD 3.1, 8K/Dual 4K Support
Silkland’s 4-foot cable combines a useful bit of extra reach with a clearly stated USB-IF certification, making it the strongest fit here for buyers who want standards-backed compatibility information. It supports 40Gbps, up to 240W PD 3.1, and displays up to 8K at 60Hz or dual 4K at 60Hz. That display detail is more specific than the Cable Matters 1-meter listing, while the added length can ease placement around a desk. The braided nylon and aluminum shell add physical protection, though the manufacturer recommends keeping dock connections under 5 feet for stability. Like the Acer USB4 cable, it still relies on the host and connected devices to support the advertised capabilities; certification does not upgrade an older port.
Pros:- USB-IF certified, with certification identifier listed
- Supports 40Gbps data and up to 240W PD 3.1
- Specifies 8K at 60Hz and dual 4K at 60Hz support
- Braided nylon exterior and aluminum shell
Cons:- The 4-foot length may still be restrictive for distant dock placement
- Full performance depends on the connected host and peripherals
- The stated recommendation to keep dock cables under 5 feet limits longer-run use
Best for: Professionals who want a USB-IF-certified cable for a Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 laptop, dock, and high-resolution display setup, with slightly more reach than a 1-meter lead.
Not ideal for: People who need a longer cable run or expect 8K, dual-display, or 240W performance from devices that do not support those standards.
- Cable type:Thunderbolt 4 / USB4, USB-C male-to-male
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Power delivery:Up to 240W PD 3.1 (48V/5A)
- Video support:8K@60Hz, 5K@60Hz, 4K@144Hz, or dual 4K@60Hz
- Length:4ft
- Certification:USB-IF Certified, TID 11328
- Materials:Braided nylon, aluminum shell, OFC conductors
- Compatibility:Thunderbolt 4/3, USB4, USB 3.2 Gen 2/2×2, USB 2.0, PD 3.1, and QC 4.0
Our verdict“Pick Silkland when certification details, 240W charging, and a little extra reach are priorities for a high-resolution desk setup.”
Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock for M4/M5 MacBook Air & Pro, 100W Charging
This Plugable dock is the lineup’s hub-focused pick: instead of solving one cable connection, it expands a compatible laptop into a desk setup with 13 ports, dual HDMI, Ethernet, card reading, audio, and 100W laptop charging. That makes it more useful than any of the standalone cables here when a MacBook needs peripherals connected at once. Its dual 4K HDMI support is a particular draw, but it is not universal across Macs: base M1 and M2 MacBooks support only one external display, and some configurations may require clamshell mode. Compared with the Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Cable, this dock adds the ports and display connections but also occupies desk space and depends on a compatible host. I’d shortlist it for a fixed workstation, not a minimal travel kit.
Pros:- Provides 13 ports, including seven USB ports
- Offers two HDMI outputs for compatible dual 4K display setups
- Delivers up to 100W charging to a connected MacBook
- Supports Mac and Windows systems with Thunderbolt 4 or USB4
Cons:- Base M1 and M2 MacBooks support only one external display
- Some display configurations may require a compatible Mac model or clamshell mode
- At 1.3kg and nearly 9 inches wide, it is less suited to travel
Best for: MacBook Air and Pro owners with compatible Thunderbolt 4 systems who need dual 4K HDMI, wired networking, card access, and one-cable desk connectivity.
Not ideal for: Base M1 or M2 MacBook users expecting two external displays, and travelers who want a compact cable rather than a substantial desktop dock.
- Interface:Thunderbolt 4
- Total ports:13
- USB ports:7
- HDMI outputs:2
- Laptop charging:Up to 100W
- Compatible systems:Thunderbolt 4 Macs with macOS 11 or later, and Windows systems with Thunderbolt 4 or USB4
- Dimensions:3.3 x 8.9 x 0.9 inches
- Weight:1.3kg
Our verdict“Choose this dock for a compatible Mac workstation that needs dual HDMI displays and a broad spread of desk connections in one hub.”
Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Cable 240W EPR Charging, 1M (3.3ft)
Plugable’s Thunderbolt 4 cable is the pick for buyers who want the stated reassurance of Thunderbolt certification alongside 240W EPR charging. It carries data at up to 40Gbps and supports dual 4K at 60Hz or a single 8K display at 30Hz, giving it a well-defined role in a high-performance laptop-and-dock connection. Compared with the Silkland cable, it is shorter and lists a lower 8K refresh rate, but it offers a two-year warranty and explicit Thunderbolt certification. The 1-meter length is its main limitation: it works best when the laptop and dock sit close together. Buyers should also match expectations to their host, since a cable cannot add display or charging capabilities that the connected equipment lacks.
Pros:- Thunderbolt certified
- Supports data transfer up to 40Gbps and power up to 240W
- Supports dual 4K at 60Hz or single 8K at 30Hz
- Includes a two-year warranty
Cons:- The 1-meter length can constrain laptop and dock placement
- The listed 8K support is 30Hz, below the 8K@60Hz claims of some alternatives
- Display and charging performance depend on host and peripheral support
Best for: Thunderbolt workstation owners who prioritize a certified 40Gbps connection, up to 240W charging, and a clearly specified two-year warranty.
Not ideal for: Users who need more than 1 meter of cable reach or require the listed 8K@60Hz capability offered by the Silkland and Acer cable descriptions.
- Cable type:Thunderbolt 4
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Maximum power:240W
- Maximum voltage and current:48V / 5A
- Display support:Dual 4K at 60Hz or single 8K at 30Hz
- Length:1m / 3.3ft
- Warranty:2 years
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Choose Plugable’s cable if Thunderbolt certification, 240W charging, and a stated warranty matter more than extra length or 8K@60Hz support.”
Acer USB4 Cable 40Gbps, 8K@60Hz Thunderbolt 4/3 Cable (3.3FT, 240W)
Acer’s USB4 cable brings the key headline specifications together in a short braided lead: up to 40Gbps, 240W PD 3.1, and 8K video at 60Hz. That 8K refresh-rate claim gives it a display-focused advantage over the Plugable cable, whose listed 8K mode is 30Hz. Its braided construction is also a practical choice for buyers who prefer a reinforced exterior, while the Silkland cable offers a more fully itemized compatibility list and USB-IF certification. Acer’s description names Thunderbolt 4/3 compatibility, but does not state a certification credential, so buyers seeking explicit USB-IF or Thunderbolt certification details may prefer those alternatives. At 3.3 feet, it suits close connections; it is not a fix for long-distance dock placement or unsupported host ports.
Pros:- Supports data transfer up to 40Gbps
- Lists 8K video output at 60Hz
- Supports up to 240W PD 3.1 charging
- Braided design adds a reinforced exterior
Cons:- The 3.3-foot length may limit desk placement
- Full functionality depends on compatible host and connected devices
- The supplied product data does not state a certification credential
Best for: Users with compatible Thunderbolt 4/3 or USB4 devices who want a braided short cable with stated 8K@60Hz video and 240W charging support.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a longer connection or want an explicitly stated USB-IF or Thunderbolt certification credential.
- Cable type:USB4 Type-C
- Compatibility:Thunderbolt 4 and Thunderbolt 3
- Data transfer rate:Up to 40Gbps
- Video output:Up to 8K@60Hz
- Power delivery:Up to 240W PD 3.1
- Length:3.3ft
- Material:Braided design
- Compatible devices:Laptops, monitors, tablets, SSDs, PCs, smartphones, and docking stations
Our verdict“Pick Acer’s cable for a short braided connection when 8K@60Hz and 240W support matter more than listed certification details.”
CalDigit TS4 18 Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock, 98W Charging, Space Gray
The CalDigit TS4 is the strongest fit here for a desk where many peripherals need to stay connected: its 18-port layout combines Thunderbolt 4, USB, Ethernet and card readers, reducing the need for separate adapters. It also supports dual 6K displays and supplies up to 98W to a connected laptop, making it better suited to demanding multi-display work than a simple certified cable such as the Anker Prime Thunderbolt 4 Cable. The tradeoff is that this is a sizable desktop dock, and its display behavior can depend on the host Mac’s capabilities. For full performance, the connection cable also needs to be certified. Compared with the 13-port Plugable dock, the TS4 prioritizes a wider selection of connections over a more compact port count.
Pros:- 18 ports, including Thunderbolt 4, USB, Ethernet, and SD card readers
- Supports up to dual 6K displays
- Up to 98W charging for a connected laptop
- Listed compatibility spans Mac, Windows, and Chrome OS devices
Cons:- Requires a certified cable for optimal performance
- Some Mac models may limit dual-display use
- Its 18-port design is less appropriate for compact or travel setups
Best for: Mac, Windows, or Chrome OS laptop users who keep multiple displays, storage devices, network connections, and USB accessories at a permanent workstation.
Not ideal for: Traveling laptop users or people with only a few peripherals; its 18-port desktop setup is more than they need, and Mac display limits may constrain some configurations.
- Total ports:18
- USB ports:8
- Power delivery:Up to 98W
- Dock wattage:230W
- Display support:Up to dual 6K displays
- Hardware interfaces:Thunderbolt 4, USB-C, USB-A, USB 3.0, USB 3.1, USB 3.2 Gen 2×2
- Dimensions:4.46 × 1.65 × 5.55 in
- Weight:1.4 lb
- Color:Space Gray
Our verdict“Choose the TS4 if a permanent workstation needs a broad range of connections and dual high-resolution displays; skip it if you need a simple, portable cable or dock.”
Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock with 100W Charging, Dual Monitor
The Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock makes sense for a workstation built around dual 4K displays at 60Hz: its two HDMI ports offer a direct display connection, alongside USB, Ethernet, and SD card slots. It delivers up to 100W charging and 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 performance, while the CalDigit TS4 offers more ports and support for dual 6K displays. That makes the TS4 the stronger choice when connection variety or higher-resolution screens matter; Plugable is a more focused match for a dual-4K desk. Its stated host compatibility is narrower, covering Windows 11 Thunderbolt 4 systems and Thunderbolt 4 Macs running macOS 11 or later. Some Mac setups may not support dual displays in non-clamshell mode, and users unfamiliar with dock configuration may find setup less straightforward than using a cable alone.
Pros:- Two HDMI ports support a dual 4K 60Hz monitor setup
- Up to 100W power delivery for laptop charging
- 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 performance
- 13 ports include USB, Ethernet, and SD card slots
Cons:- Full functionality requires a compatible Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 system
- Dual-display support can be limited on some Macs in non-clamshell mode
- Setup may be challenging for users unfamiliar with dock configurations
Best for: Office users with a compatible Windows 11 Thunderbolt 4 laptop or Thunderbolt 4 Mac who want two HDMI-connected 4K monitors and laptop charging from one dock.
Not ideal for: People using unsupported hosts, Mac users who need dual displays with the laptop open, or buyers seeking the broader port selection and dual 6K support of the CalDigit TS4.
- Total ports:13
- HDMI ports:2
- Transfer speed:Up to 40Gbps
- Power delivery:Up to 100W
- Display support:Dual 4K at 60Hz or a single 8K display
- Compatible systems:Windows 11 Thunderbolt 4 hosts and Thunderbolt 4 Macs with macOS 11 or later
- Dock wattage:134W
- Dimensions:8.9 × 3.3 × 0.9 in
- Weight:2.4 lb
Our verdict“Pick this dock for a compatible dual-4K HDMI workstation, but choose the CalDigit TS4 if you need more ports or dual 6K support.”
Anker Prime Thunderbolt 4 Cable, 3.3ft USB-C to USB-C, 240W Charging
The Anker Prime Thunderbolt 4 Cable is the cable pick for buyers who want verified Thunderbolt 4 connectivity plus 240W charging support in a short, 3.3-foot run. Its 40Gbps data rate and support for 8K or dual 4K displays make it suitable for linking a compatible laptop to a monitor or dock, including the CalDigit TS4. Unlike either dock in this roundup, it adds no ports; its value is the certified connection itself. Compared with the listed Cable Matters Active Thunderbolt 4 Cable, this Anker model is shorter and lists higher charging capacity, while the Cable Matters option offers a longer 6.6-foot reach. The Anker’s length can limit desk placement, and display performance depends on the connected devices and ports, not the cable alone.
Pros:- Thunderbolt 4-certified
- Supports data transfer up to 40Gbps
- 240W charging support for compatible devices
- Supports 8K or dual 4K displays with compatible equipment
Cons:- The 3.3-foot length may not reach across some desk setups
- Dual-display support depends on compatible host and display connections
- A cable adds no extra ports, unlike the CalDigit TS4 or Plugable dock
Best for: Laptop and monitor owners who need a Thunderbolt 4-certified short cable for 40Gbps transfers, high-resolution display connections, and compatible high-power charging.
Not ideal for: People whose desk needs a cable longer than 3.3 feet, or buyers who need a hub’s additional ports rather than a direct cable connection.
- Certification:Thunderbolt 4-certified
- Connector type:USB-C to USB-C
- Length:3.3 ft
- Maximum charging capacity:240W
- Transfer speed:Up to 40Gbps
- Display support:8K or dual 4K
- Compatible devices:Smartphones, laptops, tablets, and monitors
- Weight:15 g
- Model:A84N0
Our verdict“Choose the Anker for a short certified Thunderbolt 4 connection with 240W charging support; choose a longer cable or a dock if reach or extra ports matter more.”

How We Picked
I compared the 13 listings as two kinds of purchases: docks that expand a workstation and cables that connect or charge devices. For docks, I weighed the listed port count, charging capacity, display support, and how clearly each model fits a particular desk setup. For cables, I focused on stated data rate, power rating, length, and video claims, while treating cable certification and host-device compatibility as details buyers should verify for the exact listing.
The order gives priority to products with a clear job and useful capability for that job, rather than assuming a higher wattage or more ports makes every option better. The CalDigit TS4 ranks first for buyers who need broad connectivity; dock alternatives follow for different display or laptop needs. Cable choices are differentiated by reach and stated power, not by assuming that every cable performs identically in every configuration. The repeated Cable Matters 3.3-foot entry is called out rather than counted as a distinct design.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Thunderbolt 4 Hubs And Certified Cables
Before choosing a Thunderbolt 4 dock or cable, map the connection from laptop to display, storage, and power adapter. Buying the right link for your actual setup matters more than choosing the product with the biggest number on its listing. These checks can help avoid paying for unused dock features or expecting a cable to solve a port or compatibility problem.
Start With the Host Laptop and Its Limits
Thunderbolt 4 describes a connection standard, not a promise that every laptop supports the same number of external displays or charging behavior. Check the computer’s port specifications and manufacturer guidance before choosing a dock, especially if your workflow depends on multiple monitors. A dock can distribute connections, but it cannot add display capability the host does not support. USB-C ports that look identical may have different data, display, or power features. If you switch between computers, confirm that the dock’s key functions work with each one rather than assuming a single setup will behave the same across brands.
Choose a Dock by Ports You Will Actually Use
Count the devices that need to stay connected at the desk: displays, external storage, wired networking, audio gear, and everyday USB accessories. Then check which ports each dock provides and whether their placement suits your cables and workspace. A high port count can reduce adapter clutter, but unused connections add little value if your setup only needs a monitor and a few peripherals. Also check whether the dock’s ports share bandwidth or have specific capabilities listed by the maker. Leave room for one or two future devices, but avoid choosing a large dock solely because its feature list is longer.
Match Display Plans to the Dock and Laptop Together
Display support depends on the dock, the computer’s graphics capabilities, the monitor inputs, and the cables between them. Read the full display specification, including resolution and refresh rate, rather than relying on a headline such as dual display support. HDMI ports can simplify connections to common monitors, while other docks may rely on different video outputs or adapters. If you plan to use a pair of high-resolution screens, check whether the stated configuration applies to your specific operating system and laptop. A dock’s display claim is not a substitute for checking the complete signal path.
Treat Charging Wattage as a System Limit
A dock or cable’s maximum power rating does not mean your laptop will draw that amount. The computer controls how much power it accepts, and the power adapter must supply enough for both charging and connected devices. For a dock, compare its host charging output with your laptop’s normal adapter requirements; for a cable, check that its power rating matches the charger and device. Higher-rated cables can offer flexibility for compatible future equipment, but they do not make an underpowered charger more capable. If charging is a main reason for buying, verify the complete dock-to-laptop power arrangement before ordering.
Pick Cable Length for the Route, Not Just the Desk
Measure the path from the computer to the dock or device, including the route around a monitor stand or along a desk edge. A short cable can reduce slack and keep a compact workstation neat, while extra reach helps when a dock sits under a desk or away from the laptop. Active cables can be useful for longer runs, but check the product’s stated supported data, display, and power features rather than assuming every capability applies at every length. Avoid stretching a cable tight across a work area, where strain can pull on ports. Leave modest slack for moving a laptop without making the cable a trip or snag hazard.
Verify Certification and the Exact Listing
When a listing uses terms such as Thunderbolt 4, USB4, or certified, confirm the exact model and certification details with the manufacturer or certification information. Similar names can describe cables with different lengths, power ratings, or supported standards. This roundup includes two entries for the Cable Matters 3.3-foot cable, so check whether they are genuinely separate listings before comparing them as distinct products. Do not assume that an 8K or 40Gbps claim guarantees that every connected device will reach that mode; all parts of the chain must support it. Keeping the product page and device specifications aligned can prevent buying a cable that fits physically but misses a needed capability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a Thunderbolt 4 dock or just a certified cable?
Choose a dock if you need to connect several peripherals, route monitor signals, or reduce repeated plugging and unplugging at your laptop. Choose a cable if you already have the ports you need and want a direct connection for data, display, or charging. A cable does not create extra ports, and a dock still needs a suitable upstream cable and a compatible host. List the connections you need at the same time before deciding. That simple check often makes the dock-versus-cable choice clear.
Will a 240W Thunderbolt 4 cable charge my laptop faster?
Not on its own. The laptop’s charging limit and the power adapter’s output determine how much power the computer can accept, while the cable must be rated to carry the available power safely. A 240W-rated cable can provide headroom for compatible equipment, but it does not upgrade a lower-wattage charger or make a laptop draw more than it supports. Check your laptop’s charging requirements and the adapter output as a pair. Also confirm that the cable’s data and video features match the connection you need.
Can any Thunderbolt 4 dock run two 4K monitors from my laptop?
No single dock specification can guarantee the same dual-monitor result across all computers. The laptop’s graphics hardware and operating system, the dock’s video outputs, and the monitors’ resolution and refresh rate all affect the available configuration. Check the dock maker’s compatibility guidance for your exact computer model and intended display setup. If the computer has a display limitation, a dock cannot remove it. Confirm the supported resolution and refresh rate for both screens before selecting a dock.
Is the longer Cable Matters active cable a better choice than a short cable?
It is a better fit when the connection needs to reach farther than a compact desk cable can comfortably manage. A short run can be easier to route neatly and may suit a laptop placed beside its dock. Length alone does not make one cable better: check the listed data, power, and video support for the exact model and intended devices. For a longer connection, verify the active cable’s stated capabilities rather than assuming every mode works at every distance. Measure your route before choosing so the cable is long enough without leaving excessive slack.
Why does this roundup list the same Cable Matters 3.3-foot cable twice?
The supplied product list includes two entries with the same Cable Matters 40Gbps Thunderbolt 4 cable name and 3.3-foot length. That means they should not automatically be treated as two distinct cable designs or as evidence of a difference in performance. Compare the exact listing details, manufacturer model number, included features, and seller information to see whether there is a meaningful distinction. If those details match, treat the entries as duplicates and choose between genuinely different lengths or power specifications instead. This is also a useful reminder to verify model numbers when product names are repeated online.
Conclusion
For a desk with many connected devices, I’d choose the CalDigit TS4 as the best overall because its 18-port layout gives it the broadest role in this lineup. The best premium pick is also the TS4 for buyers who will use its extra connections; anyone with a simpler setup should compare the Dell, Satechi, and Plugable docks against their specific monitor and port needs instead. For a cable-first setup, the OWC 240W cable is a strong short-cable choice, while the Cable Matters 6.6-foot active cable makes more sense when reach is the deciding factor. I’d point beginners toward a dock that matches their laptop and monitor plan, rather than the one with the longest feature list; the listed Satechi dock is a clear candidate for buyers prioritizing dual 4K/60Hz HDMI displays. For high-power cable flexibility, compare the OWC, Silkland, Plugable, Acer, and Anker listings, then verify that your charger and devices can use the stated rating. The best choice is the one that fits your host, connections, and cable route—not the one with the most ambitious headline specification.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













